HC Deb 16 December 1998 vol 322 cc556-7W
Mr. Willetts

To ask the Secretary of State for Education and Employment when the working group on reducing bureaucracy was established; what are its terms of reference; who are its members; and when it is expected to report. [63960]

Mr. Charles Clarke

The Working Group on Reducing the Bureaucratic Burden on Teachers was set up in July 1997.

The Group's terms of reference were to report to Ministers on: the sources of bureaucratic burdens in schools, including those from central government, local government, national bodies involved with schools and schools own management and administrative practices; ways of reducing those burdens, including: clarifying minimum requirements for complying with legal obligations such as OFSTED inspections; streamlining processes; identifying best practice and how this can best be spread; making best use of information technology; areas where further study is needed to identify improvements.

The Members of the Group were: Peter Owen (chair): Director General for Schools, DfEE Denis Allnut: Director, Analytical Services, DfEE Nick Sanders: Director, School Curriculum, funding and Teachers, DfEE Gwenlian Evans: Deputy General Secretary, Association of Teachers and Lecturers Nigel de Gruchy: General Secretary, National Association of Schoolmasters/Union of Women Teachers Rowie Shaw: Director of Professional Services, National Association of Head Teachers John Bangs: Assistant Secretary, National Union of Teachers David Jones: Acting General Secretary, Professional Association of Teachers Colin Broomfield: Head of Cheshunt School, Honorary Secretary, Secondary Heads Association Pat Petch: Chair, National Governors' Council John Fowler: Local Government Association Greg Hill: Education Officer for Information Technology, Metropolitan Borough of Solihull Michael Collier: Chief Executive, Funding Agency for Schools John Taylor HMI: Inspection Quality Monitoring and Development Team, Office for Standards in Education Tony Millns: Assistant Chief Executive (Communications), School Curriculum and Assessment Authority Stephen Hillier: Head of Corporate Management, Teacher Training Agency Colin Muid: Deputy Director, Central IT Unit, Cabinet Office Graham Walker: Senior Partner, Arthur Andersen Tony Cann CBE: Chairman, Promethean Ltd.

The Group's final report to Ministers was published on 16 January 1998, and a copy is in the Library.