HC Deb 15 December 1998 vol 322 cc480-2W
Mrs. May

To ask the Secretary of State for Education and Employment if he will list the schools which have been successful in bidding for advanced skills teacher status for a member of their staff. [63253]

Mr. Charles Clarke

Complete information about school participation is not yet available in respect of the bids for more than 1,100 AST posts submitted so far by local education authorities for 1999–2000. Schools and LEAs have until 5 February 1999 to bid for the funding from April 1999. We plan to create 5,000 advanced skills teacher posts over the two school years 1999–2000 and 2000–01. The specialist schools which have been successful in bidding for advanced skills teacher status for one or more members of their staff in the 1998–99 introductory phase are listed.

  • William Ellis School
  • All Saints Catholic School and Technology
  • St. Angela's Ursuline Convent School
  • St. Bonaventure's RC School
  • Mill Hill County High School
  • The St. Marylebone School
  • Homerton House Community School
  • Chestnut Grove School
  • Oakbank School
  • Bishop Heber County High School
  • Woolston High School
  • St. Aidan's CE High School
  • Hyde Technology College
  • Deanery CE High School
  • Shevington High School
  • The Lincoln School of Science and Technology
  • Latimer School
  • Campion School
  • Prince William School
  • George Spencer GM School
  • Sawtry Community College
  • Parkside Community College
  • The Greensward School
  • Chalvedon School
  • Saffron Walden County High School
  • Goffs School
  • Lynn Grove (GM) High School
  • Wymondham College (GM)
  • Deacon's School
  • Thomas Mills High School
  • Standish Community High School
  • Calday Grange Grammer School
  • Hermitage Comprehensive School
  • St. John's RC Comprehensive School
  • Ponteland County High School
  • Prudhoe Community High School
  • St. Joseph's RC Comprehensive School
  • Carmel RC Comprehensive School
  • Ninestiles Technology College
  • City of Coventry
  • Wodensborough Community Technology College
  • Ercall Wood GM School
  • Tudor Grange School
  • 482
  • Thomas Alleyne's High School
  • Queen Mary's High School
  • Queen Elizabeth Grammar School
  • Beauchamp College
  • King Edward VII Upper School
  • The Robert Smyth School
  • Benjamin Britten High School
  • Denefield School
  • Cowes High School
  • Hugh Christie Technology College
  • Ravens Wood School for Boys
  • Cornwallis School
  • Sandwich Technology School (GM)
  • Peers School
  • Didcot Girl's School
  • St. Birinus School
  • Davison CE High School for Girls
  • Poltair Community School and Sports College
  • Richard Lander School
  • Redruth Community College
  • Penryn Community School
  • Fowey Community College
  • Torquay Boys' Grammar School
  • South Dartmoor Community College
  • George Ward School
  • Wyvern College.

Mrs. May

To ask the Secretary of State for Education and Employment (1) what guidance his Department has issued to schools on the provision of supply cover for advanced skills teachers while they are operating in schools other than those in which they are usually employed; [63247]

(2) what financial arrangements will need to be put in place between the schools concerned where an advanced skills teacher from one school is providing support, advice or training in another school. [63252]

Mr. Charles Clarke

[holding answer 10 December 1998]: The guidance in Circular 9/98, Teachers' Pay and Conditions of Employment 1998, applies. The funding available through the Standards Fund to the school which is an advanced skills teacher's main employer includes an element to meet the cost of supply cover when the advanced skills teacher is operating outside the school. Advanced skills teachers are expected to spend most of their time teaching in their own school.

Forward to