HC Deb 15 December 1998 vol 322 cc484-5W
Mr. Don Foster

To ask the Secretary of State for Education and Employment if he will list those schools in education action zones that(a) have been identified by Ofsted as failing and (b) are under special measures. [63313]

2. Ms Estelle Morris

The table lists the schools within an education action zone which are, or have been, in special measures.

Education action zone area School name
Barnsley Priory Hunningley Junior and Infant School
Milefield Primary School
Birmingham Kitts Green Audley Infant School
Heathland Primary School
Sir Wilfrid Martineau School
Blackburn and Darwen Intack Primary School*
St. Antony's RC VA Primary School
St. Mary's and St. Joseph's RC VA Primary School*
Brighton & Hove Coldean Infant School
Falmer School
St. Mark's CE (VA) Primary School*
The Marina High School
Calderdale Mixenden Primary School
Parkinson Lane Primary School
The Ridings School*
East Basildon Bradfield Junior School
Briscoe County Junior
Fairview Special School
Manor County Junior School
Northlands Infants School and Nursery
Ryedene County Primary
Vange County Primary School
Kingston Upon Hull Perronet Thompson School
Lambeth Archbishop Summer's CE VA Primary
Lilian Baylis School*
Loughborough Primary School
Mostyn Gardens Primary School
St. Stephen's CE VA Primary School*
Leicester Mary Linwood School
New Parks Community College
New Parks House Primary School
Newry Junior School
Queensmead Junior School
Rowley Fields Secondary School*
Southfields Infant School
Wycliffe Community College
North East Lincolnshire Bradley Park Junior School
Education action zone area School name
Newham Eastlea Community School
Gainsborough Primary School*
Scott Wilkie Primary School
Star Primary School
Norfolk—Thetford Abbey Farm Middle School*
Canterbury First School
Redcastle Furze First and Middle School
Nottingham City Alderman Derbyshire School
Plymouth Tamarside Secondary School*
Salford and Trafford Old Trafford County Primary School
Windsor High School
Sheffield Hartley Brook Primary School
Hinde House School
South Tyneside Margaret Sutton School
Southwark Charles Dickens Primary School
Geoffrey Chaucer Secondary School*
Grange Primary School
St. Joseph's RC VA Primary*


1. Schools in special measures are often referred to as failing schools.

* denotes that the school has been removed from special measures.

3. The information contained in the table is correct as of 8 December 1998.