HC Deb 10 December 1998 vol 322 cc279-81W
Mr. Robert Jackson

To ask the Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs if he will list(a) the(i) task forces, (ii) review panels and (iii) advisory groups his Department has, (b) the remit of each and (c) the members of each together with their principal employment and their level of remuneration. [62803]

Mr. Fatchett

The information is as follows:

  • Task Forces: Nil
  • Review Panels: Nil

Advisory Groups:

1. Panel 2000

Panel 1000 was established on 1 April 1998 to: produce a strategy to improve the way Britain is seen overseas; look at the methods and tools available to do this; make sure that the public and private sectors are working together to do this; and modernise the way the Foreign and Commonwealth Office communicates with the public.

Panel members:

Chairman: Derek Fatchett MP

Members (Private Sector):

  • Lord Alli—Plant 24
  • Zeinab Badawi—Journalist
  • Martin Bell MP
  • Baroness Chalker
  • Lord Clinton-Davies
  • Dr. Francis D'Souza—Article 19
  • Mark Fisher MP
  • David John—British Oxygen Company
  • Mark Leonard—Foreign Policy Centre
  • Lord Levy
  • Ruth Mackenzie—Scottish Opera
  • Lord Marshall—British Airways
  • Lord Paul—Caparo
  • Shahwar Sadeque—Consultant IT/education
  • Judy Simpson—Athlete
  • Martin Sorrell—WPP
  • John Sorrell—Newell & Sorrell/Design Council;
  • Harriet Ware-Austin—Amnesty International

Members (Public Sector):

  • Baroness Blackstone—Department for Education and Employment
  • Dr. David Drewry—British Council
  • Andrew Fraser—Invest in Britain Bureau
  • Tom Harris—Department of Trade and Industry
  • Roger Liddle—No. 10 Policy Unit
  • Peter Mandelson MP—Secretary of State for Trade and Industry
  • David Quarmby—British Tourist Authority


  • Baroness Symons—Parliamentary Under-Secretary
  • Sir John Kerr—Permanent Under-Secretary
  • Sir Michael Jay—HM Ambassador Paris
  • Claire Fulton
  • Priya Guha
  • Vivien Life

Panel members do not receive remuneration, although expenses are payable.

2. Diplomatic Service Appeal Board

The Board aims to advise the Secretary of State whether premature retirement, or termination of an appointment on grounds of failed probation, or on dismissal grounds is fair.

Panel members

  • Sir Keith Morris (Chairman)—Retired
  • Peter Fowler (Vice Chairman)—Retired
  • Juliet Campbell—Mistress of Girton College, Cambridge
  • 281
  • Rodney Bedford—Retired
  • Sally Bull—Retired
  • Lady Jacqueline Dyson—Lecturer in Law
  • Kamlesh Bahl—Legal Adviser and Chair of the Equal Opportunities Commission

No appointments are full time. Remuneration is only paid per diem when the Board meets. It did not meet in 1997–98.

3. Wilton Park Academic Council

The Council aims to ensure that Wilton Park retains full academic independence; it oversees Wilton Park's programme with this objective.

Panel members

  • Liliana Archibald—(Chairman)
  • Anthony Bruce—Chairman, Marconi Overseas Ltd.
  • Juliet Campbell—Mistress of Girton College, Cambridge
  • Robin Corbett MP
  • Lord Holme
  • Tony Young—Joint General Secretary Commonwealth Workers Union
  • Gael Ramsay—Chief Executive, British Executive Services Overseas
  • Andrew Rowe MP
  • Helen Wallace—Director, Sussex European Institute, University of Sussex
  • Michael Walsh—Secretary, International Department, TUC
  • Lady Suzanne Warner—Deputy Chair, Broadcasting Standards Commission
  • Nik Gowing

Panel members do not receive any remuneration, but expenses are payable.

4. Government Hospitality Fund Advisory Committee for the Purchase of Wine

The aim of the Committee is to advise on the purchasing of wine for government hospitality.

Committee members

  • Sir Ewen Fergusson (Chairman)—Company Chairman
  • Anthony Hanson—wine consultant
  • Sebastian Payne—wine buyer
  • Mark Savage—wine merchant
  • John Avery—wine merchant

Committee members receive no remuneration, although expenses are payable.