HL Deb 29 April 1998 vol 589 cc29-30WA
Lord Graham of Edmonton

asked Her Majesty's Government:

What progress had been made towards implementing the commitment in the White Paper Planning for the Communities of the Future (com 3885), to establish a task force to examine the use of recycled land for housing. [HL1692]

Baroness Hayman

We are pleased to announce that the membership of the Urban Task Force, to be chaired by Lord Rogers of Riverside, has now been finalised. The task force is:

Lord Rogers Chairman
Richard Burdett (Director, City Policy, London School of Economics)
Tony Burton (Assistant Director (Policy), CPRE)
Alan Cherry (Chairman, Countryside Properties plc)
Martin Crookston (Director, Llewellyn Davis)
Anthony Dunnett (Chief Executive, English Partnerships)
Peter Hall (Bartlett Professor of Planning, University College London)
Stuart Lipton (Chief Executive, Stanhope Property Developers)
David Lunts (Chief Executive, Urban Villages Forum)
Anthony Mayer (Chief Executive, Housing Corporation)
Anne Power (Head of Housing, London School of Economics)
Sir Crispin Tickell (Government Panel on Sustainable Development)

Wendy Thompson (Chief Executive, London Borough of Newham)
Lorna Walker (Director, Ove Amp)

This membership ensures a wide range of knowledge and experience relevant to the work of the Urban Task Force. The task force will act as a forum for developing best practice innovation on housing on previously developed land, especially in urban areas. It will also act as a sounding board for work on the assessment of available, previously developed land.