HC Deb 23 April 1998 vol 310 cc675-6W
Sir Raymond Powell

To ask the Prime Minister if he will list the members of the Security Vetting Appeals Panel indicating the criteria governing their appointment. [38868]

The Prime Minister

The members of the Security Vetting Appeals Panel are as follows:

  • Sir Anthony May (Chairman)
  • Dame Janet Smith DCB (Deputy Chairman)
  • Sir John Blelloch KCB
  • Sir Peter Woodward KCB
  • Mr. Peter Jones
  • Dr. George Gray.

The membership of the panel has been drawn up to reflect a range of interests. The Chairman and Deputy Chairman are senior members of the judiciary, currently a Lord Justice of Appeal and a High Court Judge respectively. The other Panel members have a background, at a senior level, in the Civil Service, the Armed Forces, the trades unions and industry, and related experience in security matters.