HL Deb 26 November 1997 vol 583 cc125-6WA
Baroness Amos

asked Her Majesty's Government:

What response was received to the consultation paper on the appointment of members of valuation tribunals in the light of local government reorganisation in parts of England in April 1998.

Baroness Hayman

The list of responses received has been placed in the Library of the House: copies of individual responses may be obtained through the library of the Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions. Regulations will be introduced shortly to give effect to the following measures:

  1. (i) That, with effect from 1 April 1998, the appointing bodies for the valuation tribunals listed in column 1 below be those authorities listed in column 2 below, who will be entitled to appoint members in the proportion given in column 3—the membership, revised in some cases, being that shown in column 4.

column 1 column 2 column 3 column 4
Name Appointing bodies Proportion Complement
Berkshire Newbury (W. Berkshire) DC 2 30
Reading BC 2
Slough BC 2
Windsor & Maidenhead BC 2
Bracknell Forest BC 1
Wokingham DC 1
Cambridgeshire Cambridgeshire CC 3 48
Peterhorough City Council 1
Cheshire Cheshire CC 7 60
Warrington BC 2
Halton BC 1

column 1 column 2 column 3 column 4
Name Appointing bodies Proportion Complement
Devon Devon CC 5 42
Plymouth City Council 1
Torbay BC 1
Essex South Essex CC 9 30
Southend-on-Sea BC 4
Thurrock BC 2
Herefordshire& Worcestershire CC 3 32
Worcestershire County of Herefordshire DC 1
Kent Kent CC 8 45
The Medway Town DC 1
Lancashire Lancashire CC 15 100
Blackpool BC 3
Blackburn with Darwen BC 2
Nottinghamshire Nottinghamshire CC 2 54
Nottingham City Council 1
Shropshire Shropshire CC 3 36
The Wrekin DC 1

  1. (ii) Existing members should continue to hold office until their term of office expires.
  2. (iii) Vacancies should be filled as they arise (whether through retirement of members or an increase in complement) by the new appointing authorities, until their entitlement is reached. All subsequent vacancies would be filled by the authority who appointed the departing member.

Earlier regulations provide that where the appointing body by which a member was appointed has ceased to exist, it will fall to the president of the tribunal to give notice of termination of office, if so directed by the Secretary of State.

Arrangements for Valuation Tribunals in the light of Local Government Re-organisation in April 1998

List of Respondents to Consultation Paper

Blackburn with Darwen Borough Council

Blackpool Borough Council

Cambridgeshire Valuation Tribunal

Cheshire County Council

Cheshire Valuation Tribunal

Council on Tribunals

Devon Valuation Tribunal

Essex County Council

Halton Borough Council

Hereford and Worcester County Council

Herefordshire District Council

Institute of Revenues Rating and Valuation

Lancashire County Council

Lancashire Valuation Tribunal

Nottinghamshire County Council

Nottinghamshire Valuation Tribunal

Plymouth City Council

Shropshire County Council

Shropshire Valuation Tribunal

Slough Borough Council

Society of Clerks of Valuation Tribunals

Southend-on-Sea Borough Council

Thurrock Borough Council

Wrekin District Council