HL Deb 20 November 1997 vol 583 c93WA
Lord Acton

asked Her Majesty's Government:

Further to the Written Answer by Lord Williams of Mostyn on 5 November (WA 292-3), when they expect that the building programme of 170 new secure places in local authority accommodation will be completed; and where they will be located.

Baroness Jay of Paddington

Only 10 of the 170 new places remain to be provided; these will be completed in August 1998. The location of the 170 new places is shown in the table.

Local Authority Secure Unit New places from within the 170 place supply plan
Northumberland CC Kyloe House 7
Lancashire CC Dales House 8
Salford City Council Barton Moss 12
Leeds City Council Eastmoor 9
Sheffield City Council Aldine House 8
Coventry City Council Stoke House 8
Staffordshire CC Watling House 12
Derbyshire CC Brunel 3
Lincolnshire CC Lincolnshire Secure Unit 4
Nottinghamshire CC Clayfields 10
Cambridgeshire CC Clare Lodge 10
Essex CC Leverton Hall 16
Northamptonshire CC St. Johns, Tiffield 16
Southwark London Borough Orchard Lodge 16
Hampshire CC Swanwick Lodge 5
Devon CC Atkinson 4
S. Gloucestershire CC Vinney Green 6
Neath/Port Talbot Hillside—Welsh unit 6
Hammersmith & Fulham London 10—available
Borough Stamford House summer 1998