HC Deb 03 March 1997 vol 291 cc506-7W
Mr. Tim Smith

To ask the Parliamentary Sectetary, Lord Chancellor's Department if he will make a statement on the composition of the Advisory Board on Family Law. [18700]

Mr. Streeter

On 10 December 1966, in response to a question from my hon. and learned Friend the Member for Burton (Sir I. Lawrence),Official Reportcolumn 96,I set out the Lord Chancellor's plans for the Advisory Board on Family Law which will provide independent advice on the implementation and operation of the Family Law Act 1966.

The Lord Chancellor has now appointed Sir Thomas Boyd-Carpenter to be the chairman of the Advisory Board on Family Law and the following people to be members of the board:

  • The Honourable Mr. Justice Wall
  • Naomi Angell
  • Dr. Carole Kaplan
  • Dr. Janet Lewis
  • Suzan Matthews QC
  • Professor Phyllida Parsloe
  • Professor Simon Roberts
  • Jane Simpson
  • David Skidmore
  • Colin Webb
  • Anthony Wells

All appointments are for a period of five years commencing on 1 April 1997 and ending on 31 March 2002. The board's first meeting will take place on 14 April 1997.