HC Deb 18 June 1997 vol 296 cc201-4W
Mrs. Gillan

To ask the Secretary of State for Education and Employment when he will announce the next round of technology, language, arts and sports colleges. [4254]

Ms Estelle Morris

I am announcing today the names of the schools that are to be designated as Technology Colleges and Language Colleges as from September 1997. I hope to announce the names of those schools successful in the sports and arts competitions in early July.

Mrs. Gillan

To ask the Secretary of State for Education and Employment if he will list the schools which have applied to his Department in the latest bidding round for technology, language, arts and sports school status. [4255]

Ms Morris

The following table are schools that have applied for specialist school designation in each of the current competitions.

Applications for technology college designation
School LEA
Addey and Stanhope School Lewisham
Admiral Lord Nelson School Portsmouth
Amery Hill School Hampshire
Anfield Community Comprehensive School Liverpool
Ashfield School Nottinghamshire
Astley Community School Northumberland
Balcarras School Gloucestershire
Balshaw's CE High School Lancashire
Barclay School Hertfordshire
Barnwood Park School for Girls Gloucestershire
Beardwood School Lancashire
Bedlingtonshire Community High School Northumberland
Beverley High School East Riding
Bicester Community College Oxfordshire
Bishop David Brown School Surrey
Bishop Douglass RC High School Barnet
Bishop Luffa School West Sussex
Bishop of Herefords Bluecoat School Hereford and Worcester
Brighouse High School Calderdale
Broughton Hall High School Liverpool
Bury St. Edmunds County Upper School Suffolk
Bushey Hall School Hertfordshire
Castleford High School Wakefield
Cheam High School Sutton
Chesterton Community College Cambridgeshire
Christ The King Catholic School Nottinghamshire
Christleton High School Cheshire
Clacton County High School Essex
Cleeve School Gloucestershire
Clough Hall School Staffordshire
Cressex School Buckinghamshire
Davison C of E High School for Girls West Sussex

Applications for technology college designation
School LEA
Deanes School Essex
Deben High School Suffolk
Ernulf Community School Cambridgeshire
Featherstone High School Wakefield
Gable Hall School Essex
Gordano School North Somerset
Great Yarmouth High School Norfolk
Greenhead Grammar School Bradford
Hampstead School Camden
Harper Green School Bolton
Hartsdown School Kent
Haybridge High School Hereford and Worcester
Hazel Grove High School Stockport
Highams Park School Waltham Forest
Ilfracombe College Devon
John Port School Derbyshire
John Roan School Greenwich
King Edward VII Upper School Leicestershire
King Harold GM School Essex
King John School Essex
Kingsway High School Cheshire
Longbenton Community College North Tyneside
Longsands Community College Cambridgeshire
Lutterworth Grammar School Leicestershire
Lytham St. Annes High School Lancashire
Mellow Lane School Hillingdon
Moor Park High School Lancashire
Moseley School Birmingham
National School Nottinghamshire
Oak Farm Community School Hampshire
Oakwood High School Manchester
Okehampton College Devon
Plessington Catholic High School Wirral
Princess Margaret Royal Free School Berkshire
Priory Community School North Somerset
Queen Elizabeth Grammar Cumbria
Queen Mary's Grammar School Walsall
Queensbury School Bedfordshire
Raines Foundation School Tower Hamlets
Reigate School Surrey
Richard Challoner School Kingston upon Thames
Richard Lander School Cornwall
Robert Smyth School Leicestershire
Rudheath County High School Cheshire
Sacred Heart Comprehensive School Redcar and Cleveland
Salesian College Wandsworth
Saltash Community School Cornwall
Shaw House School Berkshire
Southfields Community College Wandsworth
Southlands High School Lancashire
Speedwell School Bristol
St. Anthony's Girls School Sunderland
St. Thomas Becket RC School Knowsley
St. Birinus School Oxfordshire
St. Georges School Hertfordshire
St. John's School Wiltshire
St. Marks West Essex Catholic School Essex
St. Mary's RC High School Wigan
St. Matthews RC High School Manchester
St. Michael's RC School Stockton on Tees
St. Thomas More Catholic Comprehensive School Walsall
Steyning Grammar School West Sussex
Stockport School Stockport
The Ridings High School South Gloucestershire
Thomas Alleynes High School Staffordshire
Thomas Sumpter School North Lincolnshire
Thornton Grammar School Bradford
Tideway School and Sixth Form Centre East Sussex

Applications for technology college designation
School LEA
Varndean School East Sussex
Wade Deacon County High School Cheshire
Wilsthorpe School Derbyshire
Withywood Community School Bristol
Wollaston School Northamptonshire
Woolwich Polytechnic Greenwich

Applications for language college designation received
School LEA
All Saints RC School Sheffield
Aston Manor School Birmingham
Bournmouth School Bournemouth
Carisbrooke High School Isle of Wight
Cliff Park High School Norfolk
Cromer High School Norfolk
Didcot Girls' High School Oxfordshire
Helenswood School East Sussex
Hollingworth High School Rochdale
Hockerill Anglo European School Hertfordshire
Imberhorne School West Sussex
King Edward VII School Sheffield
Little Lever School Bolton
Our Lady's Convent High School Hackney
Our Lady's RC High School Lancashire
Parrs Wood High School Manchester
Penrice School Cornwall
Saint George's CE School Kent
Slough Grammar School Berkshire
St. Mary's RC High School Derbyshire
St. Nicholas RC High School Cheshire
Thorncliffe School Cumbria
Greenford High School Ealing
Haydon School Hillingdon
The Douay Martyrs School Hillingdon
Monks Park School City of Bristol
The Grey Coat Hospital Westminster
Sir Thomas Rich's School Gloucstershire

Applications for arts college designation received by 16 May
School LEA
Aylwin Girl's School Southwark
Brakenhale School Berkshire
Brentwood Ursuline Convent High School Essex
Bridgewater County High School Cheshire
Chestnut Grove School Wandsworth
France Hill School Surrey
Fred Longworth High School Wigan
Heathfield Community School Somerset
Intake High School Leeds
John Masefield High School Hereford and Worcestershire
Lealands High School Luton
Newall Green High School Manchester
Shirley High School Surrey
St. Marylebone High School Westminster
Stantonbury Campus Milton Keynes
Westfield Community School Somerset
Wrockwardine Wood School Shropshire

Applications for sports college designation received by 16 May
School LEA
Altwood School Berkshire
Angmering School West Sussex
Ashton on Mersey School Trafford

Applications for sports college designation received by 16 May
School LEA
Biddick School Sunderland
Cardinal Newman Catholic School and Community College Coventry
Chatham Grammar School for Boys Kent
Crown Woods Chool Greenwich
Deane's School Essex
Desborough School Berkshire
Haydon Bridge High School Northumberland
Herne Bay High School Kent
Ivybridge Community College Devon
Langdon Comprehensive School Newham
Lostock High School Trafford
Marple Hall School Stockport
Meadway School Berkshire
Newport Free Grammar School Essex
Oldfield School Bath and North east Somerset
Park House School Berkshire
Poltair Community School Cornwall
Sittingbourne Community College Kent
Wright Robinson High School Manchester
Wye Valley High School Buckinghamshire