HC Deb 24 July 1997 vol 298 c687W
Mr. Davidson

To ask the Secretary of State for Scotland if he will list(a) the methods of artificial fertilisation available in Scotland indicating those methods funded by each health board and (b) the number of patients treated by each method (i) broken down by health board and (ii) in total for each of the last five years. [10011]

Mr. Galbraith

Infertility services are divided into three levels. Level 1 services are provided by a general practitioner or general gynaecologist while level 2 services, involving more advanced investigation and treatment, are normally provided by a specialist. Level 3 infertility services are high technology procedures and are available at four centres in Scotland. The range of level 3 treatments provided in Scotland are:

  • Invitro fertilisation—IVF
  • Intra-cytoplasmic sperm insemination
  • Cryopreservation of embryos and replacement cycles
  • Oocyte donation
  • Super ovulation with intra-uterine insemination
  • Donor insemination
  • Embryo and sperm freezing and storage
  • Tubal microsurgery and ovulation induction.

Levels 1 and 2 infertility services are provided by all health boards. Individual health boards determine the provision of level 3 infertility services. I understand that all health boards provide level 3 IVF services for patients who meet specific criteria.

Information on other level 3 methods funded by health boards and the number of patients treated by each method under each level is not routinely collected.