HC Deb 15 January 1997 vol 288 c263W
Mr. Straw

To ask the Secretary of State for the Home Department which of the appointments of members to the Criminal Cases Review Commission are full time and which are part time; what is the period of appointment in each case; if each appointment is renewable; and how many of the appointments are of women. [10882]

Mr. Kirkhope

The information requested is as follows:

Year Full-time or part-time Period of appointment (years)
Sir Frederick Crawford Part-time 5
Miss Fiona King Part-time 5
Mr. Laurence Elks Part-time 5
Mr. David Kyle Full-time 3
Mr. John Leckey Part-time 5
Miss Jill Gort Part-time 3
Mr. Baden Skitt Full-time 5
Dr. James MacKeith Part-time 3
Mr. Karamjit Singh Full-time 5
Professor Leonard Leigh Full-time 3
Mr. Edward Weiss Part-time 3
Mr. Anthony Foster Part-time 5
Mr. Barry Capon Part-time 3

Under the terms of the Criminal Appeal Act 1995 members of the commission are eligible for re-appointment on expiry of their term of appointment, subject to the proviso that no one may hold office as a member for a continuous period of more than 10 years. As the table shows, two of those appointed as members of the commission are women.