HC Deb 27 November 1996 vol 286 cc295-6W
Mr. Denzil Davies

To ask the Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs if he will list the(a) names, (b) substitutes, and (c) sponsoring organisations of each of the present United Kingdom members of the Economic and Social Committee of the EU. [5508]

Mr. David Davis

The United Kingdom members of the Economic and Social Committee are:

  • Mr. Neville Beale
  • Mr. Kenneth Gardner, MA FRSC
  • Mr. Malcolm Levitt
  • Mr. John Little
  • Mr. Michael Mobbs
  • Mr. Peter Morgan
  • Mr. Kenneth Walker
  • 296
  • Mr. John Whitworth OBE
  • Mr. John Andrews
  • Mr. Campbell Christie
  • Mr. Tom Jenkins
  • Mr. John Lyons CBE
  • Miss Ada Maddocks OBE
  • Mr. Roy Sanderson OBE
  • Mr. George Wright
  • Mr. Wilfred Aspinall
  • Dame Jocelyn Barrow DBE
  • Ms Beta Brookes
  • Mrs. Ann Davidson
  • Mrs. Angela Guillaume
  • Mr. Robert Moreland
  • Mr. John Simpson
  • Mr. Michael Strauss

One seat is vacant. There are no substitute members. Members are nominated by the Government. They are not sponsored as such but some are supported by their employers or unions in so far as they are given time off to attend ESC meetings. Other members are retired or self-employed.

Forward to