HC Deb 11 November 1996 vol 285 cc16-7W
Mr. Clapham

To ask the President of the Board of Trade how many opencast coal mining sites are currently in operation; where they are situated; and what is the annual tonnage of coal extracted. [3306]

Mr. Page

There are 95 opencast coal mining sites currently in operation and their locations are given in the following table. The tonnage of coal extracted from opencast sites in 1995 was 16,369,000 tonnes.

Opencast sites
Site name Location
Airdsgreen East Ayrshire
Arden Quarry Derbyshire
Arkwright Colliery Reclamation Derbyshire
Bag Lane Wigan
Ballochney North Lanarkshire
Blairfordel Perth and Kinross
Bleak House Staffordshire
Blindwells Extension East Lothian
Blinkbonny West Mine Midlothian
Braehead Fife
Brawds Level Neath and Port Talbot
Birch Vale Quarry Derbyshire
Broughton Lodge Cumbria
Burnfoot Moor East Ayrshire
Cairncubie Fife
Candles Shropshire
Carters Ford West St. Helens
Castle Farm Durham
Chalmerston East Ayrshire
Chester House Northumberland
Clarence Farm Extension Durham
Colliersdean Northumberland
Common Farm Phase III East Ayrshire
Cynheidre Carmarthenshire
Dalquhandy South Lanarkshire
Damside North Lanarkshire
Derlwyn 2 Neath and Port Talbot
Doe Hill House Derbyshire
East Pit Extension Neath and Port Talbot
Easter Balbeggie Farm Fife
Easter Fortissat North Lanarkshire
Edge Farm South Lanarkshire
Fencehillhead Falkirk
Ffos Las Carmarthenshire
Gilfach Iago Carmarthenshire
Glascoed Wrexham
Greenside Farm North Lanarkshire
Grove Farm Leeds
Grove Farm (Extended) Leeds
Hannahston Farm East Ayrshire
Hare Hill Site South Lanarkshire
Hawks Nest Wood Leeds
Opencast sites
Site name Location
Henllan Uchaf Powys
Ireland Colliery Derbyshire
Kidburngill Cumbria
Kirk (revised) Derbyshire
Laigh Riggend North Lanarkshire
Lambhill Remainder Perth and Kinross
Leadbrook Hall Flintshire
Llanilid West Revised Rhondda, Cynon and Taff
Lletty'r Crudd Neath and Port Talbot
Lodge Coppice Shropshire
Low Gordon Durham
Lowca Cumbria
Marks Quarry Durham
Methley Park Leeds
Moorgreen Nottinghamshire
Mossband Farm North Lanarkshire
Nadins Derbyshire
Nant Helen Powys
New Farm Midlothian
Northwood Durham
Norwood Gateshead
Odd House Farm Leicestershire
Orgreave Reclamation Rotherham
Oxenfoord Midlothian
Park Slip West Merthyr Tydfil
Piperhill East Ayrshire
Plenmeller Northumberland
Prathouse Site Fife
Priors Close North Durham
Rainge Derbyshire
Reedswood Reclamation Walsall
Rockingham Barnsley
Rosslynlee Midlothian
Roughcastle North Falkirk
Rye Hill Sunderland
Sarn Helen Opencast Neath and Port Talbot
Shellbrook and Wood Farm Leicestershire
Shortrig Gorbachev Falkirk
Smotherfly Derbyshire
South Brandon Extension Durham
Stanley Moss Durham
Stobswood Northumberland
Trecatti Landfill Opencast Caerphilly
Trinity III Derbyshire
Trinity III Deep Hard Opencast Derbyshire
Wagtail Durham
Waingroves III Derbyshire
Wester Mosshat Farm South Lanarkshire
Westfield Link Fife
Whittington Sewage Treatment Works Derbyshire
Whitwell Drift Durham
Woodbine Opencast Site Barnsley
Woodmuir South Lanarkshire


The Coal Authority.