HC Deb 06 March 1996 vol 273 cc218-9W
Mr. Lewis

To ask the Secretary of State for the Environment if he will list the local authorities chosen to implement phase one of the air quality duties under part IV of the Environment Act 1995. [19202]

Mr. Clappison

The 14 areas chosen for first phase implementation comprise the following authorities:

  • The London boroughs and the City Corporation
  • Cambridge county council, Cambridge city and South Cambridgeshire district councils
  • Hampshire county council, city councils of Portsmouth, Southampton and Winchester; borough councils of Basingstoke and Deane, Eastleigh, Fareham, Gosport, Havant, Rushmoor and Test Valley; district councils of East Hampshire, Hart, New Forest and the Isle of Wight unitary authority
  • Cornwall county council, district councils of Caradon, Carrick, Ken-ier, North Cornwall and Penwith and Restormel borough council
  • Bristol city council, Bath and North East Somerset unitary authority—currently Bath city council and Wansdyke district council—South Gloucestershire unitary authority—currently Northav on district council and Kingswood borough council; North West Somerset unitary authority—currently Woodspring district council
  • City councils of Birmingham and Coventry; metropolitan borough councils of Dudley, Sandwell, Solihull, Walsall and Wolverhampton
  • District councils of Bolsover, Derbyshire Dales and North East Derbyshire; borough councils of Chesterfield and High Peak
  • Ribble Valley borough council
  • Liverpool city council and the metropolitan borough councils of Knowsley, Sefton, St. Helens and Wirral
  • Metropolitan borough councils of Barnsley, Doncaster and Rotherham
  • Newcastle upon Tyne city council and the metropolitan borough councils of Gateshead, North Tyeneside, South Tyneside and Sunderland
  • Glasgow city council
  • Aberdeen city council
  • Swansea and Neath and Port Talbot unitary authorities