HC Deb 04 June 1996 vol 278 cc367-9W
Ms Mowlam

To ask the Secretary of State for Northern Ireland if he will list(a) the number of women employed in each non-departmental public body in Northern Ireland and (b) the number of non-departmental public bodies in Northern Ireland which have a female chair. [30494]

Sir John Wheeler

The information requested is as follows:

(a) Name of body Number of women employed
Agricultural Research Institute of NI 14
Fisheries Conservancy Board for NI 8
Foyle Fisheries Commission 4
Livestock and Meat Commission for NI 8
NI Fishery Harbour Authority 1.5
Construction Industry Training Board 49
Enterprise Ulster 23
Equal Opportunities Commission 28
Fair Employment Commission 57
General Consumer Council for NI 8
Labour Relations Agency 25
Local Enterprise Development Unit 138

(a) Name of body Number of women employed
Northern Ireland Commissioner for the Rights of Trade Union Members1 1
Northern Ireland Commissioner for the Protection Against Unlawful Industrial Action1 1
Northern Ireland Tourist Board 104
Ulster Sheltered Employment Ltd. 158
Industrial Tribunals
NI Industrial Tribunals2 7
NI Fair Employment Tribunal2 4
Arts Council of Northern Ireland 26
Council for Catholic Maintained Schools 26
Northern Ireland Council for the Curriculum, Examinations and Assessment 97
Northern Ireland Higher Education Council3 n/a
Sports Council for Northern Ireland 29
Ulster Folk and Transport Museum 47
Ulster Museum 82
Youth Council for Northern Ireland 11
Northern Ireland Museums Council 2
Staff Commission for Education and Library Boards 4

Education and library boards (Non-teaching staff) Number of women employed
Belfast 3,357
North-Eastern 5,682
South-Eastern 3,964
Southern 5,164
Western 5,693
NI Economic Council 4
NI Local Government Officers' Superannuation Committee 20
Local Government Staff Commission 7
NI Housing Executive 1,396
Laganside Corporation 7
NI Transport Holding Company (including bus and rail companies) 330
Fire Authority NI 179
National Board for Nursing, Midwifery and Health Visiting 250
Council for Post-Graduate Medical Education1 22
Mental Health Commission1 5
Health and Social Services Boards 728
Health and Social Services Trusts1 25,114
Health and Social Services Directly Managed Units (DMUS)2 12,143
Health and Social Services Councils1 15
Central Services Agency 339
Health Promotion Agency1 17
Regional Medical Physics Agency 27
Blood Transfusion Services Agency 120
Police Authority for NI 2,317
Independent Commission for Police Complaints for NI 12
Probation Board for NI 213
Rathgael Training School 82
SACHR Secretariat 6
1 These are part-time posts filled by the same person.
2 Of the seven listed under the NI Industrial Tribunals, four are also involved in the Fair Employment Tribunal.
3 The Council's Secretariat is employed by the Department and not the Council itself.

1. Includes NI Ambulance Trust.

2. DMUS as at 31 December 1995.

(b) The NDPB's in NI which have a female chairman are as follows:

  • HM Prison Magilligan
  • HM Prison Maghaberry
  • Agricultural Wages Board
  • Equal Opportunities Commission
  • General Consumer Council
  • NI Commissioner for the Rights of Trade Union Members
  • Health and Safety Agency
  • Fair Employment Tribunal
  • Industrial Tribunals—two full-time/five part-time
  • Western Education and Library Board
  • Historic Buildings Council
  • Housing Benefit Review Board Panels
  • National Board for Nursing, Midwifery and Health Visiting
  • Advisory Committee of the Therapeutic Professions Allied to Medicine
  • Central Nursing Advisory Committee
  • Central Personal Social Services Advisory Committee
  • Central Pharmaceutical Advisory Committee
  • Disability Living Allowance Advisory Board
  • Eastern Health and Social Services Council
  • southern Health and Social Services Council
  • Health and Social Services Trusts
  • NI Blood Transfusion Service Agency
  • Child Support Appeal Tribunal 12 part-time Chairmen
  • Social Security Tribunal 14 part-time Chairmen
  • Disability Tribunal eight part-time Chairmen
  • Medical Tribunal four part-time Chairmen
  • NI Consumer Committee for Electricity