HC Deb 24 July 1996 vol 282 c461W
Sir Terence Higgins

To ask the Prime Minister which Government Department is responsible for the operation of the independent tribunal service. [39629]

The Prime Minister

The independent tribunal service is an independent statutory body, sponsored by the Department of Social Security. The President is responsible for its operation. He and its full and part-time chairmen are appointed by the Lord Chancellor's Department.