HC Deb 22 July 1996 vol 282 cc28-9W
Mr. Rendel

To ask the Secretary of State for the Environment what is the size of the electorate, and the name of(a) the largest and (b) the smallest of the three member wards in each of the metropolitan authorities in England; and which is the party of the councillors in each of these wards. [38753]

Sir Paul Beresford

All wards in metropolitan authorities in England are three-member wards. The table shows, for each authority, the name and size of electorate of the largest and the smallest ward. Electorate numbers are based on 1995 electoral registers.

Largest Smallest
District Ward Population Ward Population
Dudley Amblecote 14,309 Netherton and Woodside 7,201
Sandwell Tipton Green 11,146 St. Paul's 8,147
Solihull Shirley South 13,510 Kingshurst 6,227
Walsall Bloxwich West 11,424 Pheasey 7,393
Wolverhampton Bilston North 10,991 Heath Town 8,123
West Yorkshire
Bradford Odsal 12,790 Keighley South 9,816
Calderdale Greetland and Stainland 9,056 Illingworth 7,429
Kirklees Birstall and Birkenshaw 13,931 Deighton 10,067
Leeds Morley South 20,691 Hunslet 11,086
Wakefield Stanley and Altofts 13,773 Castleford Whitwood 9,776

The Department does not keep records of party political affiliations.