HC Deb 05 February 1996 vol 271 cc42-4W
Sir Irvine Patnick

To ask the Secretary of State for the Home Department if he will list in respect of civil defence grant allocations for the financial year 1996–97 for each metropolitan fire and civil defence authority, each metropolitan borough, each London borough, each county council and each unitary authority, the expenditure approved by him for grant aid at a rate of 100 per cent. on(a) emergency planning staff, (b) other employees' expenses, (c) rent, rates and premises service charges, (d) other premises-related expenses, (e) offices expenses, (f) departmental recharges, (g) miscellaneous supplies and services and (h) training and exercising costs and the expenditure on activities eligible for grant aid at a rate of 75 per cent.; and if he will make a statement. [13106]

Mr. Sackville

Civil defence grant is provided to local authorities as a contribution towards their expenses in meeting their civil defence responsibilities. The following table sets out the total approved expenditure for 1996–97 in respect of each fire and civil defence authority, metropolitan district, London borough, county council and unitary authority. I regret that it would be possible to provide a meaningful breakdown of this expenditure for all the authorities in the nine categories requested only at disproportionate cost.

Authority Expenditure
Bedfordshire 196,125
Berkshire 224,465
Buckinghamshire 210,860
Cambridgeshire 225,275
Cheshire 252,340
Cornwall 238,050
Cumbria 224,000
Derbyshire 266,450
Devon 281,575
Dorset 252,000
Durham 252,000
Essex 336,575
East Sussex 238,550
Gloucestershire 226,112
Authority Expenditure
Hampshire 329,250
Hereford and Worcester 266,462
Hertfordshire 280,250
Kent 338,000
Lancashire 307,730
Leicestershire 266,000
Lincolnshire 238,000
Norfolk 238,000
Northamptonshire 238,000
Northumberland 224,550
North Yorkshire 197,530
Nottinghamshire 253,362
Oxfordshire 213,125
Shropshire 224,000
Somerset 212,570
Staffordshire 266,000
Suffolk 238,000
Surrey 294,740
Warwickshire 211,593
West Sussex 238,350
Wiltshire 211,875
Greater Manchester 334,000
London not yet approved
Merseyside 369,000
South Yorkshire 229,000
Tyne and Wear 369,000
West Midlands 194,000
West Yorkshire 195,775
Barking 35,000
Barnet 35,000
Bexley 35,000
Brent 35,000
Bromley 35,233
Camden 35,000
Corporation 35,000
Croydon 35,000
Ealing 35,000
Enfield 35,000
Greenwich 35,000
Hackney 35,000
Hammersmith and Fulham 35,000
Haringey 35,000
Harrow 35,000
Havering 35,000
Hillingdon 35,000
Hounslow not yet approved
Islington 35,000
Kensington and Chelsea 35,000
Kingston 35,000
Lambeth 35,000
Lewisham 35,000
Merton 35,000
Newham not yet approved
Redbridge 35,000
Richmond 35,000
Southwark 35,000
Sutton 35,000
Tower Hamlets 35,000
Waltham Forest 35,000
Wandsworth 35,000
Westminster 35,000
Bradford 35,000
Calderdale 35,000
Kirklees 35,000
Leeds 35,000
Wakefield 35,000
Birmingham 35,000
Coventry 35,000
Dudley 35,000
Sandwell 35,000
Authority Expenditure
Solihull 35,000
Walsall 35,000
Wolverhampton 35,000
Barnsley 35,000
Doncaster 35,000
Rotherham 35,000
Bolton 35,000
Bury 35,000
Manchester 35,750
Oldham 35,000
Rochdale 35,000
Trafford 35,000
Bristol 56,000
Bath and North-East Somerset 56,000
South Gloucester 56,000
North Somerset 56,000
Hartlepool 196,000
Middlesborough see Hartlepool
Stockton see Hartlepool
Redcar and Cleveland see Hartlepool
Hull not yet approved
North Lincoln not yet approved
North-East Lincoln not yet approved
East Riding of Yorkshire not yet approved
Isle of Wight 168,662
York 55,400
Denbighshire not yet approved
Flintshire not yet approved
Wrexham not yet approved
Cardiganshire not yet approved
Carmarthenshire not yet approved
Pembrokeshire not yet approved
Blaenau Gwent not yet approved
Monmouthshire not yet approved
Newport not yet approved
Torfaen not yet approved
Aberconwy and Colwyn Bay not yet approved
Anglesey not yet approved
Caernarfonshire and Merionethshire not yet approved
Cardiff not yet approved
Vale of Glamorgan not yet approved
Caerphilly not yet approved
Bridgend not yet approved
Merthyr Tydfil not yet approved
Rhondda Cynon and Taff not yet approved
Neath and Port Talbot not yet approved
Swansea not yet approved
Powys not yet approved