HC Deb 03 April 1996 vol 275 cc323-4W
Dr. Lynne Jones

To ask the Secretary of State for Health if he will list the members of SEAC. [24174]

Mr. Horam

The information requested is as follows:


  • Professor J. R. Pattison
  • Dean of University College London Medical School where he is also Professor of Medical Microbiology.

Deputy Chairman

  • Dr. R. G. Will
  • Consultant neurologist at the Western General Hospital, Edinburgh and Director of the UK CJD Surveillance Unit.


  • Professor I. V. Allen
  • Neuropathologist at the Royal Victoria Hospital, Belfast.
  • Professor J. Almond
  • Virologist and Professor of Microbiology at the University of Reading.
  • Professor F. Brown FRS
  • Virologist, Molecular Pathology, Plum Island Animal Disease Center, USA.
  • Mr. R. Bradley CBE
  • Veterinary Pathologist and Chairman of the BSE sub-group of the Scientific Veterinary Committee.
  • Professor J. Collinge
  • Head of the Prion Diseases Group at St. Mary's College Hospital, London.
  • Dr. W. D. Hueston
  • Epidemiologist at the USDA Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service, Fort Collins, Colorado, USA.
  • Dr. R. H. Kimberlin
  • Independent Consultant on scrapie and related diseases
  • Dr. Mike Painter
  • Consultant in Communicable Disease Control, City of Manchester.
  • Mr. D. B. Pepper
  • Private veterinary surgeon.
  • Professor P. Smith
  • Epidemiologist at the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine.
  • Dr. W. Watson
  • Former Director of the Central Veterinary Laboratory.