HC Deb 03 April 1996 vol 275 c353W
Mr. Llwyd

To ask the Secretary of State for Social Security how many Benefits Agency offices in Wales are located in rural districts; and if he will list them. [22378]

Mr. Roger Evans

As the interpretation of "rural districts" is subjective, we are unable to give a definitive reply on what constitutes a rural district.

There are a total of 75 benefit offices located in Wales, 34 of which are main benefit processing sites and 41 of which are public caller outlets. They are as follows:

Main processing sites Public caller outlets
Caernarfon Ystradgynlais
Aberystwyth Pontlottyn
Llangefni Tredegar
Newtown Brecon
Porthmadog Bargoed
Dolgellau Port Talbot
Holyhead Abertillery
Wrexham Monmouth
Colwyn Bay Abergavenny
Deeside Pontypool
Rhyl Chepstow
Llanelli Blaenavon
Ammanford Bangor
Carmarthen Barmouth
Haverfordwest Blaenau Ffestiniog
Pembroke Dock Cardigan
Swansea Knighton
Morriston Lampeter
Neath Llandrindod Wells
Porth Llandysul
Aberdare Machynlleth
Bridgend Pwllheli
Pontypridd Welshpool
Tonypandy Ferndale
Cardiff Central Maesteg
Barry Mountain Ash
Cardiff East Treorchy
Cardiff West Gorseinon
Merthyr Tydfil Pontardawe
Blackwood Pontardulais
Caerphilly Kidwelly
Ebbw Vale Llandeilo
Newport Tumble
Cwmbran Denbigh