HC Deb 27 November 1995 vol 267 c462W
Mr. Cox

To ask the Secretary of State for the Home Department what is the number of vulnerable prisoner units that exist in prisons in England and Wales; and if he will list these establishments. [1704]

Miss Widdecombe

Responsibility for this matter has been delegated to the temporary Director General of the Prison Service, who has been asked to arrange for a reply to be given.

Letter from Richard Tilt to Mr. Tom Cox, dated 27 November 1995: The Home Secretary has asked me to reply to your recent Question about vulnerable prisoner units in prisons in England and Wales. Vulnerable prisoner units, as distinct from segregated accommodation requiring controls under Prison Rule 43 or Young Offender Institution Rule 46, exist in 37 establishments as shown in the list annexed to this letter.

  • Annexe
  • Acklington Prison
  • Albany Prison
  • Blakenhurst Prison
  • Brinsford Young Offender Institution and Remand Centre
  • Cardiff Prison
  • Castington Young Offender Institution
  • Channings Wood Prison
  • Dartmoor Prison
  • Doncaster Prison
  • Dorchester Prison
  • Durham Prison
  • Elmley Prison
  • Frankland Prison
  • Full Sutton Prison
  • Glen Parva Young Offender Institution and Remand Centre
  • High Down Prison
  • Holme House Prison
  • Lewes Prison
  • Lincoln Prison
  • Littlehey Prison
  • Liverpool Prison
  • Low Newton Remand Centre
  • Maidstone Prison
  • Manchester Prison
  • Risley Prison
  • Rochester Prison
  • Shepton Mallet Prison
  • Stafford Prison
  • Styal Prison and Young Offender Institution
  • 1Usk Prison
  • Wandsworth Prison
  • Wayland Prison
  • 1Whatton Prison
  • Whitemoor Prison
  • Wolds Prison
  • Woodhill Prison
  • 1Wymott Prison
  • 1Establishments holding only vulnerable prisoners.

Forward to