HC Deb 06 March 1995 vol 256 c40W
Mr. Alex Carlile

To ask the Secretary of State for Social Security how many DSS resettlement units have closed each year since 1990.

Mr. Roger Evans

Since 1990 the Department has either closed and replaced or disengaged from the direct administration of 16 resettlement units as follows:

Year and unit Status
Fazakerley—Liverpool Closed
Brighton Closed
Bridge House Closed
Alvaston—Derby Closed
Walkden—Manchester Closed
Winterbourne—Bristol Closed
Plawsworth—Newcastle Closed
Stormy Down—South Wales Closed
Camden—London Disengaged
Southampton Disengaged
Newbury Disengaged
Spur House—Lewisham Disengaged
Pound Lodge—Brent Disengaged
Leicester Disengaged
Lye—West Midlands Disengaged
West End House—London Disengaged

Back to
Forward to