HL Deb 26 June 1995 vol 565 c37WA
Lord Stoddart of Swindon

asked Her Majesty's Government:

When the Council of Ministers was renamed the Council of the European Union; upon whose decision the renaming took place; and whether Parliament and other national parliaments were consulted.

Baroness Chalker of Wallasey

Member states agreed in Council Decision 93/591 of 8 November 1993 that the Council of Ministers would henceforth be called the Council of the European Union to reflect the entry into force of the Maastricht Treaty, which established the European Union. The change reflects the fact that the Council adopts acts both in the Community and in the intergovernmental pillars.