HC Deb 16 January 1995 vol 252 cc303-4W
Mr. Sweeney

To ask the Secretary of State for Wales if he will make a statement about the development of NHS trusts in Wales.

Mr. Richards

There are currently 24 operational NHS trust in Wales. My right hon. Friend and I have received five applications from hospitals, community units and the ambulance service to become NHS trusts from April 1995. Public consultation on three of the applications ended on 4 December 1994.

In the light of the representations received, and taking account of the individual merits of each application, my right hon. Friend and I have decided to establish a further three NHS trusts to become operational from next April. The details are

  • South Glamorgan Health Authority
  • South Glamorgan Dental Hospital and School, Cardiff
  • South Glamorgan Community/Priority Services Unit, Cardiff

Ambulance Service

East Dyfed and West Glamorgan Ambulance Services

The orders giving effect to my decisions have been signed today. The trusts will be formally established on 6 February 1995 with an operational date of 1 April 1995.

We will announce shortly the details on the chairmen and non-executive directors of the new NHS trusts.

The University hospital of Wales and Cardiff Royal group and the West Glamorgan east unit (Neath and Port Talbot) district services unit, jointly, have also applied for NHS trust status from April 1995. Both applications are currently subject to three months public consultation. We expect to announce the outcome during February.

This announcement today means that, from April 1995, some 95 per cent. of acute and community services and 100 per cent. of ambulance services in Wales will be delivered by NHS trusts.