HC Deb 01 February 1995 vol 253 cc745-6W
Mrs. Ewing

To ask the Secretary of State for Defence if he will name each of the front-line infantry regiments.

Mr. Soames

A list of current Regular infantry regiments is as follows:

Regular Infantry Regiments

The Guards Division

  • Grenadier Guards
  • Coldstream Guards
  • Scots Guards
  • 746
  • Irish Guards
  • Welsh Guards

The Scottish Division

  • The Royal Scots
  • The Royal Highland Fusiliers
  • The King's Own Scottish Borderers
  • The Black Watch
  • The Highlanders
  • The Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders

The Queen's Division

  • The Princess of Wales's Royal Regiment (First and Second Battalion)
  • The Royal Regiment of Fusiliers (First and Second Battalion)
  • The Royal Anglian Regiment (First and Second Battalion)

The King's Division

  • The King's Own Border Regiment
  • The King's Regiment
  • The Prince of Wales's Own Regiment of Yorkshire
  • The Green Howards
  • The Royal Irish Regiment
  • The Queen's Lancashire Regiment
  • The Duke of Wellington's Regiment

The Prince of Wales's Division

  • The Devonshire and Dorset Regiment
  • The Cheshire Regiment
  • The Royal Welch Fusiliers
  • The Royal Regiment of Wales
  • The Royal Gloucestershire, Wiltshire and Berkshire Regiment
  • The Worcestershire and Sherwood Foresters Regiment
  • The Staffordshire Regiment

The Light Division

  • The Light Infantry (First and Second Battalion)
  • The Royal Green Jackets (First and Second Battalion)
  • The Parachute Regiment (First, Second and Third Battalion)

The Brigade qt. Gurkas

  • The Royal Gurkha Rifles (First, Second and Third Battalion)