HC Deb 21 October 1994 vol 248 c368W
Dr. Lynne Jones

To ask the Secretary of State for the Home Department, pursuant to his answer of 17 October,Official Report, column 84, what was the composition of the tribunal set up to consider the appeal of PC Rhys Trigg after his dismissal by the Police Commissioner.

Mr. Maclean

Police discipline appeals tribunals are appointed on an ad hoc basis under paragraph 3 of schedule 5 of the Police Act 1964, as substituted by section 103 of the Police and Criminal Evidence Act 1984. Paragraph 3 requires that the three members comprise a barrister or solicitor, who shall be the chairman, a serving or retired inspector of constabulary or a retired chief officer and a retired officer of appropriate rank to the appellant.

The chairman of the tribunal considering PC Trigg's appeal was Mr. T. M. E. Nash. The second member was Sir James Anderton CBE QPM DL. The third member was Mr. P. Astles.