HC Deb 30 November 1994 vol 250 cc706-7W
Mr. Byers

To ask the President of the Board of Trade who much the chairmen and members of the British Coal Authority are to be paid; and, for each member, what other publicly funded posts they hold.

Mr. Charles Wardle

[holding answer 28 November 1994]: Sir David White receives a salary of £18,000 a year as part-time Chairman of the Coal Authority. Mr Neville Washington, its full-time chief executive, receives a salary of £55,000 plus pension and a car allowance. He is also eligible for a non-pensionable performance bonus. The other part-time members receive a salary of £5,500 per annum.

The other paid public appointments held by the members of the Coal Authority are:

  • Sir David White: Chairman of the Nottingham health authority;
  • Mr. Roy Lynk: Industrial tribunal member in Nottingham; and
  • Mr. Leslie Rendell: the retiring director of planning and transport of Warwickshire county council.