HC Deb 24 November 1994 vol 250 cc258-9W
Mr. Sykes

To ask the Secretary of State for Transport which quangos his Department has abolished since 1979.

Mr. Norris

The non-departmental public bodies that my Department has abolished or declassified since 1979 are as follows:

  • Advanced Ground Transport Working Group
  • Advisory Committee on Motor Cycle Rider Training
  • Air Travel Reserve Fund Agency
  • Commissioners of Irish Lights
  • Disciplinary Inquiry under s471 of the Merchant Shipping Act 1894
  • Freight Integration Council
  • Honorary Medical Advisory Panel for Driving and Disorders of the Nervous System
  • Inquiry on Lorries, People and the Environment
  • Landscape Advisory Committee
  • London Rail Advisory Committee
  • Motor Rallies Advisory Committee
  • National Ports Council
  • Pilotage Commission
  • Railways and Coastal Shipping Committee
  • Red Sea Lights Company Limited
  • Road Safety Education Development Unit
  • Standing Advisory Committee on the Carriage of Dangerous Goods in Ships
  • Transport and Road Research Laboratory Advisory Committee Working Party on Medical Standards for HGV and PSV Drivers

Mr. Sykes

To ask the Secretary of State for Transport how many quangos his Department was responsible for(a) in 1979 and (b) in the latest year for which a number is available.

Mr. Norris

(a) Some 15 non-departmental public bodies in 1979, as listed in "Report on Non-Departmental Public Bodies", Cm 7797, January 1980; and (b) eight non-departmental public bodies at 1 April 1993, as shown in "Public Bodies 1993".

Forward to