HC Deb 24 November 1994 vol 250 cc238-40W
Mr. Sykes

To ask the Secretary of State for the Environment which quangos his Department has abolished since 1979.

Mr. Robert B. Jones

Tables A and B list bodies which existed in 1979, were classified as non-departmental pubic bodies, and have been wound-up as such bodies by the Department of the Environment since 1979. Table C lists non-departmental public bodies which have been both created and wound-up by the Department of the Environment in the period since 1979.

Table A

Executive Non-Departmental Public Bodies

  • Advisory Panel on Institutional Finance in New Towns
  • Centre for Environmental Studies
  • Location of Offices Bureaux
  • London Housing Staff Advisory Committee
  • National Building Agency
  • English Water Authorities (9)
  • National Water Council
  • New town Development Corporations
  • Aycliffe
  • Basildon
  • Bracknell
  • Central Lancashire
  • Corby
  • Harlow
  • Milton Keynes
  • Northampton
  • Peterborough
  • Peterlee
  • Redditch
  • Runcorn
  • Skelmersdale
  • Stevenage
  • Telford
  • Warrington
  • New Towns Staff Commission
  • Water Space Amenity Commission

The above Table includes organisations, some, or all, of whose functions have been transferred to bodies other than Non-Departmental Public Bodies. It excludes organisations whose functions have largely been transferred to, or merged with, other Non-Departmental Public Bodies.

Table B

Advisory Non-Departmental Public Bodies

  • Advisory Committee on Bird Sanctuaries in Royal Parks
  • Advisory Committee on Housing Cooperatives
  • Advisory Committee on Local Government Audit
  • Advisory Committee on Protection of Birds England and Wales
  • Advisory Committee on Rent Rebates and Rent Allowances
  • Advisory Committee on Sculptures in Royal Parks
  • Advisory Committee on Trees in Royal Parks
  • Ancient Monuments Board Committee for Rescue Archaeology
  • Area Archaeological Advisory Committees (13)
  • Building Research Establishment Advisory Committee
  • Clean Air Council
  • Committee to Examine Standards of Lawn Tennis in Great Britain
  • Commission on Energy and the Environment
  • Construction and Housing Research Advisory Council
  • Construction Industry Manpower Board
  • Detergents and Allied Products - Voluntary Notifications
  • Scheme Scrutiny Group
  • Economic Planning Councils (8)
  • Environmental Board
  • Hadrian's Wall Advisory Committee
  • Historic Buildings Council for England
  • Housing Association Registration Advisory Council
  • Housing Services Advisory Group
  • 240
  • Hydraulics Research Station Advisory Committee
  • Local Government Commission for England
  • National Consultative Council for the Building and Civil Engineering Industries
  • Noise Advisory Council
  • Planning and Transportation Research Advisory Council
  • Recreation Management Training Committee
  • Scientific Authority for Animals
  • Standing Technical Committee on Synthetic Detergents

Table C


  • Greater Manchester Residuary Body
  • Merseyside Residuary Body
  • South Yorkshire Residuary Body
  • Tyne and Wear Residuary Body
  • West Midlands Residuary Body
  • West Yorkshire Residuary Body


  • Committee on the Management of Privately-Owned Blocks of Flats
  • London and Metropolitan Government Staff Commission
  • Review of Rating of Plant and Machinery

Mr. Sykes

To ask the Secretary of State for the Environment how many quangos his Department was responsible for(a) in 1979 and (b) in the latest year for which a number is available.

Mr. Robert B. Jones

In 1979 the Department of the Environment was responsible for a total of 114 non-departmental public bodies—45 executives, 66 advisory and three tribunals. In 1993, the Department was responsible for a total of 41 non-departmental public bodies—28 executive, 10 advisory and three tribunals.