HC Deb 24 November 1994 vol 250 cc277-8W
Mr. Hall

To ask the Secretary of State for Education if she will list the current members of the Funding Agency for Schools and the remuneration they receive.

Mr. Robin Squire

The current membership of the Funding Agency for Schools is:

Sir Christopher Benson Chairman of the Sun Alliance Group plc (Chairman) and Costain Group plc.
Mr. Shailendra Adwalpalkar Finance Director, Gillette International, AMEE Group
Sir Robert Balchin Chairman, Grant-maintained Schools Foundation
Canon Gerald Greenwood Director of Education, Southwark Diocesan Board of Education
Dr. Arthur Hearnden OBE General Secretary, Independent Schools Joint Council
Mr. Stanley Kalms Chairman of the Dixons Group
Mr. Lee Karu Barrister
Mrs. Jacqueline E. Kearns MA Headteacher, Homewood GM
FRSA School, Tenterden, Kent
Mrs. Lesley King Headteacher, St Joseph's RC GM Primary School, Aldershot
Mrs Pauline Latham Chairman of Governors, Ecclesbourne GM School, Derbyshire
Cllr. Edward Lister Leader of Wandsworth Council
Dr. Francis Patterson OBE Headteacher, St. Francis Xavier's College, GM School, Liverpool
Mr. Peter Turner OBE Recently retired Head, Whitefield Schools and Centre, Waltham Forest

The chairman receives an annual fee of £34,350 for an equivalent of two days per week. Other members of the agency are entitled to claim a fee of £155 for days on which they are transacting agency business. Members may also claim travel and subsistence expenses incurred on those days.