HC Deb 17 November 1994 vol 250 cc6-8W
Mr. Sweeney

To ask the Secretary of State for Wales what representations he received in response to his Department's letter of 7 April "Local Government Reorganisation: Lead Authorities for Certain Financial Matters"; and if he will make a statement.

Mr. Redwood

I received several representations on the arrangements for administering superannuation and Welsh Church Act funds from 1 April 1996; and on the closure of the accounts of district and county councils, including their residual loan debt and insurance matters.

I have considered all the representations carefully and have reached the conclusions set out in the three following tables, which will be given effect by secondary legislation in due course. In the case of superannuation funds, regulations will be made by my right hon. Friend the Secretary of State for the Environment.

Table 1: Superannuation funds
Current administering authority New administering new authorities Covering areas of following authority
Clwyd Flintshire Flintshire, Denbighshire, Wrexham
Dyfed Carmarthenshire Carmarthenshire, Cardiganshire, Pembrokeshire
Gwent Torfaen Torfaen, Blaenau Gwent, Caerphilly, Monmouthshire, Newport
Gwynedd Caernarfonshire and Merionethshire Caernarfonshire and Merionethshire, Aberconwy and Colwyn, Anglesey
Mid Glamorgan Rhondda, Cynon, Taff Rhondda, Cynon, Taff, Bridgend, Merthyr Tydfil
Powys Powys Powys
South Glamorgan Cardiff Cardiff, The Vale of Glamorgan
West Glamorgan Swansea Swansea, Neath and Port Talbot

Table 2: Welsh Church Act fluids Each of the new authorities will be vested with and responsible for administering its own Welsh Church Act fund, except in the following cases:
Current administering authority New authority to be vested with fund Covering areas of following new authorities
Gwent Monmouthshire Monmouthshire, Blaenau-Gwent, Caerphilly, Newport, Torfaen
Mid Glamorgan Rhondda, Cynon, Taff, Rhondda, Cynon, Taff, Bridgend, Merthyr Tydfil
South Glamorgan The Vale of Glamorgan The Vale of Glamorgan, Cardiff


While the funds would be vested in the three authorities listed in the second column, it would not prevent the other authorities listed in the third column from taking decisions about how to apply income from the funds, whether jointly or individually.

Table 3: Closure of accounts (includes responsibility for residual loan debt and insurance matters)
New authority to close accounts of
Aberconwy and Colwyn Aberconwy, Colwyn
Anglesey Anglesey
Blaenau Gwent Blaenau Gwent
Bridgend Ogwr
Caernarfonshire and Merionethshire Arfon, Dwyfor, Meirionnydd, Gwynedd
Caerphilly Islwyn, Rhymney Valley
Cardiff Cardiff, South Glamorgan
Cardiganshire Ceredigion
Carmarthenshire Carmarthen, Dinefwr, Llanelli, Dyfed
Denbighshire Rhuddlan, Glyndwr
Flintshire Delyn, Alyn and Deeside, Clwyd
Merthyr Tydfil Merthyr Tydfil
Monmouthshire Monmouth
Neath and Port Talbot Neath, Port Talbot
Newport Newport, Gwent
Pembrokeshire Preseli Pembrokeshire, South Pembrokeshire
Powys Brecknock, Radnorshire, Montgomeryshire, Powys
Rhondda, Cynon, Taff Cynon Valley, Taff Ely, Rhondda, Mid Glamorgan
Swansea Swansea, Lliw Valley, West Glamorgan
Torfaen Torfaen

Table 3: Closure of accounts (includes responsibility for residual loan debt and insurance matters)
New authority to close accounts of
The Vale of Glamorgan Vale of Glamorgan
Wrexham Wrexham Maelor

Back to