HC Deb 03 November 1994 vol 248 cc1395-7W
Mr. Betts

To ask the Secretary of State for Education if she will list those public investment projects within her Department's responsibility which have attracted private capital and which have been commenced since November 1993.

Mr. Robin Squire

The Department for Education is not directly responsible for the disbursement of grants to educational institutions except for allocations to voluntary aided and special agreement schools, technology colleges and to city technology colleges. Information on voluntary aided and special agreement schools is held on a financial year basis only and cannot be adapted to the form requested. The list of projects for technology colleges and city technology colleges is as follows:

Technology Colleges

  • Aldersley High School, Wolveerhampton
  • All Hallows RC High School, Preston, Lancashire
  • All Saints Catholic School, Barking and Dagenham
  • Applemore Technology School, Southampton
  • Bacup and Rawtenstall Grammar School, Rossendale, Lancashire
  • Baines School, Poulton-le-Fylde, Lancashire
  • Belper School, Derbyshire
  • Bexley-Erith Technical High School for Boys, Bexley
  • Bishop Stopford VA School, Northamptonshire
  • Central Technology College, Gloucester
  • Chalvedon School, Basildon, Essex
  • Chatham Grammar School for Girls, Chatham, Kent
  • Collingwood School, Camberley, Surrey
  • The Cornwallis School, Maidstone, Kent
  • Deacon's School, Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
  • Deanery High School, Wigan
  • Denefield School, Reading, Berkshire
  • George Spencer School, Nottingham
  • Glyn School, Epsom, Surrey
  • Harraby School, Carlisle, Cumbria
  • Herschel Grammar School, Slough, Berkshire
  • Highbury School, Salisbury, Wiltshire
  • Hugh Christie School, Tonbridge, Kent
  • John Kelly Boys Community School, Neasden, Brent
  • John Kelly Girls Community School, Neasden, Brant
  • Kemnal Technology College, Sidcup, Bromley
  • The Kings School Grantham, Lincolnshire
  • Lancaster Royal Grammar School, Lancashire
  • Lincoln School of Science and Technology, Lincolnshire
  • Lodge Park School, Corby, Northamptonshire
  • Lynn Grove GM High School, Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
  • Mill Hill County High School, Barnet
  • New Wellington School, Altrincham, Cheshire
  • Northampton School for Boys, Northamptonshire
  • The Philip Morant School, Colchester, Essex
  • Prospect School, Reading, Berkshire
  • Rastrick High School, Brighouse, West Yorkshire
  • Ravens Wood School for Boys, Bromley
  • Saffron Walden County High School, Essex
  • Sale Moor School, Sale, Cheshire
  • Sawtry Community College, Cambridgeshire
  • Senacre Technology School, Maidstone, Kent
  • Small Heath School, Birmingham
  • Soham Village College, Cambridgeshire
  • St. Aidan's Church of England VA High School, Poulton-le-Fylde, Lancashire
  • St. Alban's Catholic High School, Ipswich, Suffolk
  • St. Bonaventure's School, Newham
  • St. George's Technology School, Sleaford, Lincolnshire
  • St. Peter's Collegiate Church of England School, Wolverhampton
  • St. Thomas More School, Blaydon, Tyne and Wear

City Technology Colleges

  • ADT College, Wandsworth, London
  • BRIT School, Croydon, Surrey

Mr. Betts

To ask the Secretary of State for Education how much private capital has been invested in public investment projects within her Department's responsibility since the 1992 autumn statement.

Mr. Robin Squire

The information requested is not held centrally. The Department keeps records of voluntary aided capital projects all of which have a private component of at least 15 per cent. City technology colleges also receive a large element of private capital input. In both cases we are not able to determine the time the investment was made. Responsibility for other public funded education facilities rests with the funding councils and individual local education authorities.