HC Deb 15 March 1994 vol 239 c645W
Mr. Milburn

To ask the Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster what guidance exists for the use of free air miles accrued by civil servants on official business.

Chairmen Chief executives
Biotechnology and Biological Sciences Research Council Sir Alistair Grant Professor Tom Blundell FRS
Engineering and Physical Science Research Council Dr. Alan Rudge, OBE, FRS, FEng Professor Richard Brook, OBE
Economic and Social Research Council Dr. Bruce Smith, OBE Professor Howard Newby
Medical Research Council Sir David Plastow Sir Dai Rees, FRS
Natural Environment Research Council Mr. Robert Malpas, CBE, FEng Professor John Krebs, FRS
Particle Physics and Astronomy Research Council Dr. Peter Williams, CBE Professor Kenneth Pounds, CBE, FRS

The councils will be under the general direction of Sir John Cadogan, CBEHon, FEng, FRS, the first Director General of Research Councils. Sir John and the chairmen and chief executives will have a vital role. They will be working together to implement the Government's strategy for science engineering and technology as set out in the 1993 White Paper "Realising our Potential"—Cm 2250.