HC Deb 11 July 1994 vol 246 cc386-7W
Mr. Austin Mitchell

To ask the President of the Board of Trade whether he will list for the period 1979 to 1993(a) the names of individuals acting as inspectors for his Department who are partners in law and accountancy firms, giving the name of the firm in each case and (b) the law and accountancy firms which have been criticised in inspectors' reports.

Mr. Neil Hamilton

Table A lists Companies Act inspectors from legal and accountancy firms who have acted during the period 1979 to 1993 and whose appointment has been announced. Table B lists firms of solicitors and accountants who have been criticised in inspectors' reports published from 1979 and the reports concerned.

Table A
Inspector Firm
Mr. J. Darby FCA Arthur Young
Mr. H. Moore FCA Moore Stephens & Co.
Mr. I Bowie FCA Peat Marwick Mitchell & Co.
Mr. K. Webb FCA Thornton Baker & Co.
Mr. J. Hillyer FCA Hill Vellacott
Mr. T. Harding FCA Tansley Witt & Co.
Mr. P. Ainger FCA Price Waterhouse
Mr. A. Humphries FCA Baker Sutton & Co.
Mr. P. Foss FCA Moores Rowland
Mr. R. Morcom FCA Pannell Kerr Forster
Mr. B. A. Kemp FCA Safferys
Mr. P. Dobson FCA Ernst & Whinney
Mr. B. Currie CA Arthur Andersen
Mr. A. Hardcastle FCA Peat Marwick McLintock
Mr. I. Watt FCA KPMG Peat Marwick
Mr. P. DuBuisson FCA BDO Binder Hamlyn
Mr. M. Lickiss FCA Grant Thornton
Mr. A. Ridler FCA Pannell Kerr Forster
Mr. K. Carmichael FCA Longcrofts
Mr. D. Anton FCA Coopers & Lybrand Deloitte
Mr. R. Youard Slaughter & May
Mr. M. McIver Bird Semple & Crawford Herron
Mr. D. MacLeod FCA Ernst & Whinney
Mr. H. Aldous FCA Robson Rhodes
Mr. J. Eden Bevan Ashford
Mr. C. Chudley FCA Bromhead & Co.
Mr. L. Ziman Nabarro Nathanson
Mr. W. Hoffman FCA Baker Tilly
Mr. B. Worth FCA Clark Whitehill
Mr. G. Lane FCA Chantrey Vellacott
Mr. G. Staple Clifford Chance
Mr. T. Tress FCA Hays Allen
Mr. R. Lewis FCA Kidsons Impey
Mr. D. Spence CA Grant Thornton
Mr. D. Anton FCA Deloitte Haskins & Sells
Mr. M. Boohan FCA Grant Thornton

Inspector Firm
Mr. J. Venning FCA Robson Rhodes
Mr. P. Powell FCA Moore Stephens
Mr. R. Turner FCA Neville Russell
Mr. J. Scott FCA BDO Binder Hamlyn
Mr. J. White FCA KPMG Peat Marwick
Mr. A. Gilroy FCA BDO Binder Hamlyn
Mr. J. Heywood FCA Price Waterhouse
Mr. B. Burn FCA BDO Binder Hamlyn

Table B
Inspectors' report Firm
Burnholme & Forder Ltd. Josolyne Layton-Bennett & Co.
Brayhead Ltd.
Orbit Holdings Ltd. CT Moore & Co.
Peat Marwich Mitchell & Co.
Ashbourne Investments Ltd. Wright Stevens & Lloyd
Data Investments Limited Robson Rhodes
Cornhill Consolidated Group Limited Singleton, Fabian & Derbyshire
Kina Holdings Limited Harold Everett Wand & Co.
Dixon Wilson Tubbs & Gillett
Collins & Co.
Scotia Investments Limited Lubbock Fine
Richards Butler
Gilgate Holdings Limited and others Thornton Baker & Co.
Gerald Edelman & Co.
Norwest Holst Limited Price Waterhouse
Ramor Investments Limited Price Waterhouse
Greenbank Trust Limited Pannell Kerr Forster
House of Fraser Holdings Plc Herbert Smith
Milbury Plc Arthur Young
Hancock & Willis
Minet Holdings Plc Black Geoghegan & Till
WMD Underwriting Agencies Ltd. Josolyne Layton-Bennett
Arthur Young
Alexander Howden Group Plc Josolyne Layton-Bennett
Arthur Young
de Paula Turner Lake
Peat Marwick Mitchell
Aldermanbury Trust Plc Levy Gee
Spicer & Pegler
Sound Diffusion Plc Arthur Young
Rotaprint Plc Arthur Young
Ernst & Whinney
The Milford Docks Company Coopers & Lybrand
Lovegrove & Durant
Edencorp Leisure Plc Ernst & Young
Norton Group Plc Hacker Young
Taylor Joynson Garrett
Astra Holdings Plc Stoy Hayward
Baileys Shaw & Gillett
London United Investments Plc KPMG Peat Marwick
CR Driver & Co. Ltd.
The Bestwood Plc BDO Binder Hamlyn
Atlanta Fund Managers Limited

Forward to