HC Deb 18 January 1994 vol 235 cc536-7W
Mr. William Powell

To ask the right hon. Member for Selby, as representing the Church Commissioners if he will list those suffragan bishops for whose salary the Commissioners are responsible, with their dates of appointment, and such suffragan sees as are currently vacant.

Mr. Alison

The suffragan bishops whose stipends the Commissioners are empowered to pay and their dates of appointment are as follows:

See Suffragan See Bishop Date of appointment
Croydon Wilfred Wood 25 July 1985
Southwell Sherwood Alan Morgan 1 September 1989
Truro St. Germans Graham James 23 February 1993
Wakefield Pontefract John Finney 14 May 1993
Winchester Southampton John Perry 5 February 1989
Worcester Dudley Rupert Hoare 29 September 1993
York Hull Donald Snelgrove 28 May 1981
Selby Humphrey Taylor 1 September 1991
Whitby Gordon Bates 9 June 1983
Europe Europe Edward Holland 22 July 1986
The following suffragan sees are currently vacant but will be filled by the person named on the date indicated:
Blackburn Burnley Martyn Jarrett 2 February 1994
Manchester Middleton Stephen Venner 2 February 1994
Norwich Lynn David Conner 2 February 1994
St. Albans Bedford John Richardson 23 February 1994
Winchester Basingstoke Geoffrey Rowell 2 February 1994

Forward to