HC Deb 25 February 1994 vol 238 c507W
Mrs. Gorman

To ask the Secretary of State for Education if he will list the new sixth forms to which he has given approval in(a) grant-maintained schools and (b) local authority schools since April 1992.

Mr. Robin Squire

Since April 1992 my right hon. Friend has approved proposals for new sixth forms in 17 grant-maintained schools and two LEA-maintained schools. The schools concerned are:

(a) Grant maintained

  • Baverstock GM School, Birmingham
  • Small Heath School, Birmingham
  • Sawtry Village College, Cambridgeshire
  • The Merrill Community School, Derbyshire
  • Chellaston School, Derbyshire
  • Beauchamps GM School, Essex
  • Bromfords School, Essex
  • The King John School, Essex
  • West Hatch School, Essex
  • The Arnewood School, Hampshire
  • The Burgate School, Hampshire
  • Ringwood School, Hampshire
  • The Maplesden Noakes School, Kent
  • Sheringham High School, Norfolk
  • Highams Park School, Waltham Forest
  • Queen Elizabeth School, Warwickshire
  • Moseley Park GM School, Wolverhampton.

(b)LEA maintained

St. Peter's RC Comprehensive School, Solihull.

My right hon. Friend has also recently approved proposals for the establishment of a new school for pupils aged 11 to 18 years in Halifax, Calderdale, to replace two 11 to 16 schools.