HL Deb 22 February 1994 vol 552 c47WA
Lord Bruce of Donington

asked Her Majesty's Government:

Whether they will state the circumstances in which two social scientists at the University of Bradford were awarded a Government-sponsored grant of £ 94,000 to undertake a two-year study of the Treaty of Maastricht.

Baroness Blatch

This grant to Professor Kenneth Dyson and Dr. Kevin Featherstone of the University of Bradford has been awarded by the Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC) for a study of "The Dynamics of European Monetary Integration: Developing the EMS and EMU,1987–94". The ESRC receives its grant-in-aid from the Office of Science and Technology, but is an independent body with responsibility for allocating its funds in the light of its own judgment of priorities, and the quality of research applications it receives. The project in question was subject to a stringent peer review procedure in which proposals are scrutinised and graded by academic referees who are experts in the relevant fields, and it received a high grading.