HC Deb 14 December 1994 vol 251 c647W
Mrs. Lait

To ask the Prime Minister what steps have been taken to appoint an intelligence and security committee, commissioner and tribunal, under the terms of the Intelligence Services Act 1994.

The Prime Minister

Following consultation with the Leader of the Opposition, and in accordance with section 10 of the Intelligence Services Act, I have appointed the intelligence and security committee as follows:

  • The right hon. Tom King CH MP (Chairman)
  • The right hon. Alan Beith MP
  • The right hon. Dr John Gilbert MP
  • The right hon. Sir Archie Hamilton MP
  • The right hon. Lord Howe of Aberavon QC
  • Mr Barry Jones MP
  • Mr Michael Mates MP
  • Mr Allan Rogers MP
  • Sir Giles Shaw MP

In accordance with section 8 of the Intelligence Services Act 1994, I have appointed Lord Justice Stuart-Smith as the Intelligence Services Commissioner for a period of three years. Sir Simon Dennis Brown has been appointed president of the intelligence services tribunal, John Colin McInnes vice-president of the tribunal and Sir Richard Kennedy Harvey Gaskell a member of the tribunal, by royal warrant, each for a period of five years. All appointments take effect from 15 December 1994.

Forward to