HC Deb 07 December 1994 vol 251 c236W
Mr. Colvin

To ask the Secretary of State for Defence how many of his Department's airfields are occupied by United States forces; what is the form of tenure; and which ones are now surplus to requirements.

Mr. Soames

The United States Air Force currently operates four of my Department's airfields at the main operating bases of RAF Alconbury, RAF Lakenheath and RAF Mildenhall, and the standby deployment base of RAF Fairford. United States visiting forces are based in the United Kingdom under the general provisions of the NATO status of forces agreement 1951 and the visiting forces act 1952. These airfields will remain available for as long as, in the opinion of both the UK and US governments, the presence of the United States visiting forces at them is considered desirable in the interest of common defence. The airfield at RAF Alconbury is no longer required for USAF operations and the station will become a non-flying base by 31 March 1995.