HC Deb 20 April 1994 vol 241 cc535-6W
Dr. Wright

To ask the Secretary of State for the Environment if he will give figures on the distribution of the coalfield areas fund and on the share of the fund that is being made available in relation to the closure of Littleton colliery in south Staffordshire.

Mr. Baldry

The full £5 million available under the Coalfield Areas Fund was allocated last year, in response to bids from local authorities, as follows:

DOE Region and Authority Bids approved (£)
St. Helens MBC (Parkside/Sutton Manor) 150,000
North West
DOE Region and Authority Bids approved (£)
Wigan MBC (Parkside) 120,000
Easington DC (Vane Tempest/Easington) 164,000
Durham Co.C (Vane Tempest/Easington) 86,000
West Midlands
Stoke-on-Trent Ci C (Trentham) 560,400
Staffordshire Co. C (Trentham) 266,000
East Midlands
Ashfield DC (Silverhill) 336,108
Rushcliffe BC (Cotgrave) 293,232
Nottinghamshire Co. C (Coalfield area/Cotgrave/Bevercotes/Clipstone) 384,500
Bolsover DC (Bolsover/Shirebrook) 544,393
Newark and Sherwood DC (Clipstone) 72,756
Chesterfield BC (Bolsover) 214,000
Bassetlaw BC (Bevercotes) 193,800
Mansfield DC (Coalfield area/Clipstone/Shirebrook) 359,800
Derbyshire Co. C (Coalfield Area) 50,500
Yorkshire and Humberside
Doncaster MBC (Rossington/Markham Main) 648,150
Wakefield MDC (Sharlston) 288,000
Rotherham MBC (Maltby) 291,000
Total 5,022,639
Although communities affected by the closure of Littleton colliery have not been assisted by the Coalfield Areas Fund, they will benefit from other elements of the Government's £200 million package of assistance announced last year by my right hon. Friend the President of the Board of Trade.