HC Deb 05 July 1993 vol 228 c39W
Mrs. Ann Winterton

To ask the Secretary of State for Northern Ireland by what authority the Standing Advisory Commission on Human Rights is established; who are its current members; who is its chairman; upon what basis and for what terms he appoints individuals to the commission; what is the annual cost of the commission; and if he will make it his policy to bring forward proposals for its abolition.

Sir Patrick Mayhew

The commission is constituted in accordance with section 20 of the Northern Ireland Constitution Act 1973. Members are selected on the basis of their legal or other relevant experience. They are appointed for a period of two years and their appointments may be renewed. The commission's membership on 1 July 1993 is as followsChairman..

  • Mr. Charles Hill, QC
  • Mrs. J. Harbison, CBE
  • Mrs. M. Clark-Glass, CBE
  • Mr. R. T. Mullan
  • Mr. F. A. Mackie, OBE
  • Mr. A. L. Sherrard
  • Mr. D. Nesbitt
  • Mrs. J. Corr
  • Professor S. F. Lee
  • Mrs. J. Smyth
  • Ms G. Keegan
Ex-Officio Members1:
  • Mr. R. G. Cooper, CBE
  • Mrs. J. Mclvor, QSM
1 The 1973 Act stipulates that the commission's membership must include ex-officio the chairman of the Fair Employment Agency, and the Northern Ireland Commissioner for Complaints and the Northern Ireland Parliamentary Commissioner for Administration. Mr. Cooper is chairman of the FEA and Mrs. Mclvor holds both commissioner posts.

The annual cost of the commission for the period April 1992 to March 1993 was £240,200 (provisional figure).

I greatly value the independent advice of the Standing Advisory Commission of Human Rights and the Government have no plans to bring forward proposals for its abolition.

Back to