HC Deb 27 January 1993 vol 217 c738W
Mr. Ron Davies

To ask the Secretary of State for Wales if he will list those schools in Wales which have(a) balloted parents in pursuit of grant-maintained status, (b) received approval to pursue grant-maintained status from such a ballot and (c) been granted grant-maintained status.

Mr. David Hunt

Fifteen schools have held a ballot of parents. They are:

i. Primary Schools

  • Cefnpennar Infants, Mid Glamorgan
  • Llanerfyl, Powys
  • Caergeiliog, Gwynedd
  • Derwen, Clwyd
  • Penybryn, Clwyd

ii. Secondary Schools

  • Queens, Gwent
  • Cwmcarn, Gwent
  • Bishop Vaughan, West Glamorgan
  • Gowerton, West Glamorgan
  • Olchfa, West Glamorgan
  • Brynmawr, Gwent
  • Emrys ap Iwan, Clwyd (twice)
  • Maelor, Clwyd
  • Stanwell, South Glamorgan
  • John Beddoes, Powys

I refer the hon. Gentleman to my right hon. Friend the Minister of State's reply of 19 January 1993 to the hon. Member for Alyn and Deeside (Mr. Jones), Official Report, columns. 193–94, for details of those schools where the ballot was in favour of seeking grant-maintained status and of those schools whose proposals have been approved by my right hon. Friend.