HC Deb 11 February 1993 vol 218 cc703-4W
Mr. David Evans

To ask the Secretary of State for the Environment what arrangements he intends to adopt to allow local authorities continued borrowing during 1993–94 to cover the collection of outstanding arrears of 1990–91 and 1991–92 community charges; and if he will make a statement.

Mr. Redwood

During this year community charge collection has improved significantly, and it is essential that authorities continue to make every effort to collect all outstanding unpaid community charges. To assist authorities we are prepared to consider, in response to an application by an authority, granting an increase in its aggregate credit limit for 1993–94 to cover those unpaid 1990–91 and 1991–92 community charges which it expects to collect during 1993–94. This will enable such an authority to continue to borrow to cover these debts pending their collection during the course of next year.

Mr. Channon

To ask the Secretary of State for the Environment if he will list the 16 local authorities he referred to on 3 February,Official Report, column 342 which will receive a special grant to compensate them since their standard spending assessment is more than 5 per cent. lower than under the old basis of estimating; and if he will quantify the money each of the 16 local authorities will receive.

Mr. Redwood

[holding answer 9 February 1993]: The "Special Grant Report (No.5)", which was laid before the House on 28 January 1993, sets out the authorities to which population loss grants are to be paid, and the amount of each grant. These are listed:

Bracknell Forest 690,257
Richmondshire 426,440
Wokingham 321,846
Rutland 189,768
West Oxfordshire 160,569
Three Rivers 139,901
Colchester 135,501
Purbeck 131,493
North Kesteven 118,575
North Shropshire 80,988
Milton Keynes 69,099
Tendring 66,819
City of Oxford 48,818
East Yorkshire 38,250
Wealden 35,790
Surrey Heath 20,050