HC Deb 06 December 1993 vol 234 c40W
Mr. Llew Smith

To ask the Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs what consideration was given to including a Member of the European Parliament on the intelligence and security committee; and if he will make a statement.

Mr. Hurd

The Intelligence Services Bill provides for the members of the intelligence and security committee to be appointed by the Prime Minister after consultation with the Leader of the Opposition. Each Committee member shall be a member of either the House of Commons or the House of Lords, and none shall be a Minister of the Crown. There are no other restrictions on who the Prime Minister may appoint.