HC Deb 04 March 1992 vol 205 c162W
Mr. Simon Hughes

To ask the Secretary of State for the Environment if he will list the present and planned sites for monitoring of air quality, stating for each which pollutants are measured.

Mr. Baldry

The Department of the Environment is currently operating the following number of air pollution monitoring sites:

Ozone: 18
Carbon monoxide: 6
Nitrogen oxides: 12
Acid deposition: 32
Atmospheric hydrocarbons: 4
Trace gases: 3
Smoke and sulphur dioxide: 258
Lead: 17

The enhanced urban monitoring initiative will place monitoring sites in 24 more towns and cities across the United Kingdom by the end of the decade. Each will measure ozone, sulphur dioxide, nitrogen dioxide, carbon monoxide, small particulate matter—PM10—and toxic hydrocarbons.

The first 10 sites will be in Cardiff, Belfast, Edinburgh, Birmingham, Newcastle, London, Liverpool, Bristol, Leeds and Aberdeen, the Government are awaiting independent scientific advice before choosing the locations of the remaining sites.

Forward to