HC Deb 15 June 1992 vol 209 c397W
Mr. Pike

To ask the Secretary of State for the Environment when he proposes to announce the membership of the commission to be established to deal with local government re-organisation; and if he will make a statement.

Mr. Redwood

I am inviting the following people to serve as members of the Local Government Commission under the chairmanship of Sir John Banham:

  • David Ansbro
  • Professor Michael Chisholm
  • Ken Ennals
  • Brian Hill
  • Councillor Mary Leigh
  • Ann Levick
  • Robert Scruton
  • Clive Wilkinson
  • Baroness Wilcox

This is a strong, independent commission with a balanced membership covering a wide range of interests and experience. We intend to announce further members of the commission very shortly.