HC Deb 15 June 1992 vol 209 cc356-7W
Mr. David Atkinson

To ask the Prime Minister if he will announce the membership of the United Kingdom delegation to the forthcoming meeting of the assembly of the CSCE in Budapest.

The Prime Minister

[holding answer 12 June 1992]: The CSCE parliamentary assembly will be meeting in Budapest on 3 to 5 July. I have appointed 13 delegates from the Parliament of the United Kingdom. The delegation will consist of seven Members of the Conservative party, five Members of the Labour party and one Member of the Liberal party. I have also appointed a number of substitute delegates.

The appointment of Labour and Liberal representatives and substitutes have been made on the basis of nominations by the parties concerned.

Representatives from the Government Benches will be:

The right hon. Member for Westermoreland and Lonsdale (Mr. Jopling), who will act as leader, the hon. Members for Arundel (Sir M. Marshall), for Honiton (Sir Peter Emery), for Warwick and Leamington (Sir D. Smith) and for Wealden (Sir G. Johnson Smith), the Earl of Dundee and Lord Montgomery of Alamein.

Representatives from the Labour party will be the hon. Members for Stockton, North (Mr. Cook), for Tooting (Mr. Cox), for Walsall, South (Mr. George), for Wansbeck (Mr. Thompson) and for Wentworth (Mr. Hardy).

The representative from the Liberal party will be the hon. and learned Member for Fife, North-East (Mr. Campbell).

The following substitutes have been appointed to act as necessary on behalf of the delegates:

From the Government Benches, the hon. Members for Ashford (Sir. K. Speed), for Rochford (Dr. Clark) and for Weston-super-Mare (Mr. Wiggin).

From the Labour party, the hon. Members for Don Valley (Mr. Redmond) and for Dundee, West (Mr. Ross).