HC Deb 14 July 1992 vol 211 cc554-5W
Mr. Steinberg

To ask the Secretary of State for Education, pursuant to his answer of 23 June,Official Report, column 126, if he will list (a) the local education authorities who have confirmed that their claims have been based on the correct criteria and (b) those authorities who have been unable to confirm that their claims have been made on the correct criteria.

Mr. Forth

Local education authorities in list A have indicated that their claims for grants for education support and training included only eligible expenditure they themselves incurred. Those in list B have not yet responded, or have indicated that claims may have included other expenditure. The Department is seeking replies or clarification from LEAs in list B. It has issued clear guidance to all LEAs, and has asked auditors to check that claims have been prepared on the correct basis.

List A Havering
City of London Hillingdon
Camden Hounslow
Greenwich Kingston upon Thames
Hackney Merton
Hammersmith and Fulham Newham
Islington Redbridge
Kensington and Chelsea Richmond upon Thames
Lambeth Sutton
Wandsworth Waltham Forest
Barking and Dagenham Birmingham
Barnet Dudley
Bromley Sandwell
Croydon Walsall
Ealing Wolverhampton
Enfield Liverpool
Haringey St. Helens
Harrow Sefton
Wirral Derbyshire
Bury Devon
Manchester Dorset
Oldham Durham
Rochdale East Sussex
Salford Essex
Stockport Gloucestershire
Tameside Hampshire
Trafford Hereford and Worcester
Wigan Hertfordshire
Barnsley Humberside
Doncaster Isle of Wight
Rotherham Kent
Sheffield Leicestershire
Bradford Lincolnshire
Leeds Norfolk
Wakefield North Yorkshire
Newcastle upon Tyne Northamptonshire
North Tyneside Northumberland
Sunderland Nottinghamshire
Avon Oxfordshire
Bedfordshire Shropshire
Berkshire Somerset
Buckinghamshire Staffordshire
Cambridgeshire Suffolk
Cheshire Surrey
Cleveland Warwickshire
Cornwall Wiltshire
List B Knowsley
Lewisham Bolton
Southwark Calderdale
Tower Hamlets Kirklees
Westminster Gateshead
Bexley South Tyneside
Brent Isles of Scilly
Coventry Lancashire
Solihull West Sussex