HC Deb 07 July 1992 vol 211 c177W
Mr. Alfred Morris

To ask the Secretary of State for Employment if she will list the advisory committees and their memberships which advise her on matters relating to the European Community; and if she will make a statement.

Mr. Michael Forsyth

My right hon. Friend the Secretary of State for Employment consults widely on all proposals for EC legislation and other significant Community instruments. She particularly values the comments of advisory committees whose responsibilities cover matters which are the subject of the EC proposal in question.

My right hon. Friend is advised by the Health and Safety Commission (HSC) on matters relating to health and safety at work, including proposed EC legislation in this area. HSC's advice follows consultation with its relevant consultative committees. The members of the Health and Safety Commission are:

  • Sir John Cullen (Chairman)
  • Councillor Eddie Carrick
  • Mr. Paul Gallagher
  • Mr. Peter Jacques CBE
  • Mr. John C. Marvin
  • Mr. Nigel J. Pitcher
  • Councillor Dr. Colin Shannon CBE
  • Mr. Rex H. M. Symons
  • Mr. Alan Tuflin
  • Dame Rachel Waterhouse